Essay Awards

NCH London | January 11, 2018

On 10th January 2018, we celebrated the outstanding academic work of students who were shortlisted for the inaugural NCH London Essay Competition with our Essay Awards.

Hosted by Professor A C Grayling, who led the judging panel for the competition, the essay competition awards ceremony was held at the College’s beautiful Grade I-listed Georgian building in Bedford Square, Bloomsbury. During the event, essay writers and their guests were invited to walk the red carpet, complete with a paparazzo, and enjoy canapés with non-alcoholic sparkling wine.

Almost 500 students from around the globe entered the competition, which sought submissions of 1,500-word essays answering one of the following three questions: “What is the future for globalism?”, “Why do we need philosophers?”, and “Is Democracy the best form of government?”

We are delighted to announce that the top prize of £2,000 was awarded to Jonathan Burman for his essay about the future for globalism. Jonathan’s school, Altrincham Grammar School for Boys, will receive £1,000.

First runner-up, Grace Jackson from Norwich High School for Girls, was awarded £1,000.

Joint second runners-up prizes of £500 went to Eva Kooijmans from the British School of Milan and Leo Rogers from Varndean College.

Six students were awarded prizes including £50 gift vouchers for writing one of the top ten essays submitted in the competition. These were:

Sophie Baxter, Poynton High School & Performing Arts College

Samantha Denyer, Ponteland High School

Eduard-Mihai Dragusin, Chingford Foundation School

Alexander Hansen, Nyborg Gymnasium

Julia Hernandez, Zurich International School

Yasmin Lozano Chester, King’s College School, Madrid

Of the students shortlisted for their essays, Professor A C Grayling, Master of the College, said: “I am very impressed with the quality of thinking and essay-writing in the humanities and social sciences demonstrated by these young people here today. I wish to congratulate each and every one of you on your academic work.”

Prizes, including £40 gift vouchers, were awarded to all shortlisted candidates due to the overwhelming quality of the essays received. The following students, listed in alphabetical order, were shortlisted:

Anara Abdyrakhmanova, London Academy of Excellence

Nav Aithani, Magdalen College School

Eseosa Kikachukwu Akojie, Nonsuch High School for Girls

Julia Archer, Mayflower High School

Amber Baksh de la Iglesia, The Royal Masonic School for Girls

Cindy Beckel, Landesgymnasium Sankt Afra Meissen

Jack Bellenie, Hessle High School & Sixth Form College

Alisa Bespoludina, Bradfield College

Andrés Bravo, Colegio Ana Julia Holguin de Hurtado

Leona Crawford, Tonbridge Grammar School

Akshat Dalmia, Titiksha Public School

Sabrina Davis, Pate’s Grammar School

Meg Day, Ipswich High School

Lauren Demeere, Jan-Van-Ruusbroeckollege

Georgina Deri, Queen Margaret’s School

Tilly Drew, Chenderit School

Millicent Gehrer, Zurich International School

Tiffany Griffiths, Sevenoaks School

Julia Grummett, Blessed Robert Sutton Catholic Sports College

Mohammad Hakimi, Tiffin School

Ella Hazell, Mayflower High School

Jonathan Henly, Royal Grammar School, Guildford

Theo Holland, The Langton Grammar School for Boys

Allen Hui, Plymouth College

Pawel Jelonek, London Academy of Excellence

Sara Knurowska, Worth School

Georgie Lang, Moreton Hall

Daniel Larbi, Harrow School

Satida Limtrajiti, International Community School

Jeremi Litarowicz, International School of Geneva La Grande Boissière

Grace Liu, Worth School

Zak Macklin, Sirius Academy West

Channa Maitland, Robert Gordon’s College

Hira Mayet, Jumeirah English Speaking School

Hamza Mehmood, St Mark’s Academy

Aleksander Mielnikow, Meridian International School

Pebbie Miller, Colfe’s School

Grace Muir, Nonsuch High School for Girls

Vincent Muratet, American School of Barcelona

Andrew Osipov, Hutchesons’ Grammar School

Jasmine Powell, The Rochester Grammar School

Lucas Pringle, Repton

Pragati Ramteke, Santaji Mahavidyalaya

Cormac Ridout, Edgbarrow School

Olivia Roberts, Stratford Girls’ Grammar School

Sophie Molly Roberts, The Royal School

Andrea Rugasira, Malvern St James Girls’ School

Gervaise Savvias, The American Academy Nicosia

Friederike Schaper, Robert Gordon’s College

Mirabelle Schuurmans, Were Di

Charles Sherlock, Harrow School

Francis Simpson, Durham Sixth Form Centre

Phoebe Spence, Westminster School

Bartlomiej Staniszewski, London Academy of Excellence

Patrycja Stawska, The Heathland School

Tahsin Tasfia, Stockport College

Isabelle Thorneycroft, The Rochester Grammar School

Hannah Vlasak, Tonbridge Grammar School

Joe Waters, New College Pontefract

Grace Williams, Brockenhurst College

Chiara Wittmann, Ampleforth College

We would like to thank the staff at all of the schools who supported the essay competition and encouraged their students to participate. We will shortly be announcing details of our 2018 Essay Competition for current Year 12 students.